Rome, Part 1

Hello,

So sorry it took me so long to post, but hey! better late then never, right? 😀
So I decided to split my experience into parts 🙂 today lets start with part 1 – things I regret doing / so happy I did / wish I did 🙂

IMG_20170512_122257.jpg
The forums (it took us about 5 h., we got sunburned, but it was well worth it! but we really should have brought a snack :D)

 

 

Things I loved / would do again:
1) the place we stayed. We found this cute B&B on bookings.com now truth be told it was quite nerve wracking to go to a different country and stay in a B&B. I suppose with a 4 star hotel I would have felt more secure, but the room was awesome and for Rome quite cheap. I think per night it was about 60 euros, and divided by two it was only 30. We got a small breakfast (pastry + probably the best coffee in Rome) and it only took as 15 minutes to walk to Colosseum!!  It was fun to start your days with that view 😉

IMG_20170511_202313.jpg
Pantheon at evening was gorgeous, also there is something to be said about sitting in front of it, eating ice cream and listening to street musicians

2) go to forums on a weekday and buy Vatican tickets in advance and for a weekday as well. The longest queue we had to stand in was 15 minutes and that is not a queue 😀 If I remember correctly we choose Monday for forums and Thursday for Vatican, really good choice because there weren’t that many people there 🙂
3) Use visitacity.com <- awesome app/site for city breaks.

IMG_20170512_132322.jpg
As silly as this sounds but I did fell very little and insignificant standing there and looking at ruins of buildings that where built thousands of years ago by people who are lost to history.

Things I regret
1) Not enough research on good places to eat. Beside the first day (restaurants near Colosseum – horrible and expensive) we did quite alright, but I still regret I didn’t do more research.
2) Did you know you can’t buy ticket on the actual buss and it needs to be bought ahead of time? Care to guess how I figured that out? 😀

 

IMG_20170514_210742.jpg
Colosseum definitely looks better in pictures than in real life
IMG_20170510_172300.jpg
Random street that we found when you feet where crying in pain and we just wanted to sit

Things I wish I though of:
1) All in all I’m quite happy with my trip, but the last day was a lot less fun because we had to change our hotel to one closer to the airport because the flight was at 6 a.m. That was horrible (baggage storage at the train station cost 12 euros per bag and took as about 1.5h, also staff was rude and just plain horrible). I would have rather taken an indirect flight.

If you are curious in total everything cost as about 600 euros per

 

IMG_20170510_122356.jpg
View from the top of Castel Sant’Angelo

person 🙂 We spent 7 nights, aka 8 days in Rome. Plane tickets – 120 euros, hotels – 235 euros and food + attractions + little trinkets 245 euros 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

